Stephen F. Wessling Observatory

Below is the tentative calendar for 2014. Dates may be changed due to viewing conditions at any time. We will try to update this page to inform you ahead of time if any event has been postponed. You are welcome to call the Newaygo County Dark Sky Astronomers secretary (at the Newaygo Conservation District) at 231-924-2420 ext. 5 for more information at any time.

Admission for Star Party Open House is $5.00 for adults, $2.00 for 17 and younger, and free for children under 5 years of age.

Come equipped. Flashlights will be helpful for finding your way around in the dark, but should be kept directed toward the ground so as not to interfere with observing activities. Insect repellent and warm clothing (particularly for feet, head and hands) are strongly encouraged during appropriate seasons. Parts of the observatory are heated and cooled but the main telescope area in the building is open to the night air.

Please keep in mind that the quality of your observation will depend on weather and viewing conditions. SFW Observatory can not guarantee pre-scheduled events when conditions are not suitable. With every event we automatically schedule a make-up date. If the make-up date does not work out as well, we will reschedule again. Thank you for your understanding.

Due to liability, no pets are allowed at the observatory.

DSA = Newaygo County Dark Sky Astronomers

All events will take place at the observatory unless otherwise noted.


2014 Calendar of Meetings and Special Events

Tue., Jan. 21 - DSA meeting 7:00pm at Fremont Chamber of Commerce Office

Tue., Feb. 18 - DSA meeting 7:00pm at Fremont Chamber of Commerce Office

Tue., Mar. 18 - DSA meeting 7:00pm at Fremont Chamber of Commerce Office

Tue., Apr. 15 - DSA meeting 7:00pm at SFW Observatory

Sat., May 10 - National Astronomy Day; Public Star party 8:30 to 11:30pm at SFW Observatory. Featuring Jupiter, the Moon and various stars clusters in the Milky Way.

Tue., May 20 - DSA meeting 7:00pm at SFW Observatory

Sat., May 31 - Public Star party; 8:30 at SFW Observatory. Featuring Jupiter, Saturn, stars clusters and galaxies and a constellation tour.

Tue., Jun. 15 - DSA meeting 7:00pm at SFW Observatory

Sat., Jun. 21 - Summer Solstice Star-b-que. 6:30pm Family potluck, games, star gazing to follow after dark. Celebrate the summer solstice with us at SFW Observatory!

Sat.,, Jun. 28 - Public Star party; at SFW Observatory. Featuring Saturn, star clusters and galaxies.

Tue., Jul. 15 - DSA meeting 7:00pm at SFW Observatory; Public Star party at 8:30 pm NBFF kickoff with the Moon and Saturn.

Sat., Jul. 19 - Public Star party; NBFF Star Hopping through the Milky Way, constellation tour and deep sky objects viewing 8:30 at SFW Observatory.

Sat.,, Aug. 9 - Public Star party, Perseid Meteor Shower and the Full Moon 8:30pm at SFW Observatory.

Tue., Aug. 19 - DSA meeting 7:00pm at SFW Observatory

Sat., Aug. 23 - Public Star party at 8:30pm Deep Sky Objects through the Milky Way, galaxies, star clusters, nebulae and constellation tour at SFW Observatory.

Tue., Sep. 16 - DSA meeting 7:00pm at SFW Observatory

Sat., Sep. 20 - Public Star party at 8:00pm Study the Deep Sky Objects through the Milky Way, galaxies, star clusters, nebulae for the Fall Equinox at SFW Observatory.

Sat., Sep. 27 - Public Star party at 8:00pm Observing the crescent moon and the Deep Sky Objects through the Milky Way, galaxies, star clusters, nebulae at SFW Observatory.

Sat., Oct. 4 - Public Star party at 8:00pm Studying the features of the Moon and the stars of the Milky Way at SFW Observatory.

Tue., Oct. 21 - DSA meeting 7:00pm at SFW Observatory

Sat., Oct. 25 - Public Star party at 7:00pm Searching for the far out planets, Neptune and Uranus and beyond the solar system into the Milky Way at SFW Observatory.

Tue., Nov. 18 - DSA meeting 7:00pm at Fremont Chamber of Commerce Office